Game Types Bonuses Slots More
Online Casinos Poker Bingo Games Lotteries Sports & Racebooks Fantasy Sports Forex Betting Exchanges Spread Betting Binary Options Live Dealers
Weekly Newsletter Online Gaming News Payment Methods Gaming Software Gaming Site Owners Gaming Jurisdictions Edit Preferences Search
Bonuses! New games! Gossip! And all the player news you can handle. Sign up NOW!

Related Links

Macau Poker Cup to begin next week

16 Feb 2011

MACAU -- (PRESS RELEASE) -- The Macau Poker Cup (MPC) is set to begin next week from February 21-27 and all signs point towards yet another record-breaking week for PokerStars Macau at Casino Grand Lisboa.

The Red Dragon main event now comes with a HKD $3,000,000 Guarantee and the 321-player record - - set in 2010 - - is expected to be shattered.

Asia's premiere poker series has a 200-player capacity for each of the two Day 1 Red Dragon heats. Day 1A will have more than half those seats occupied by PokerStars qualifiers before the first player even registers in the poker room's cage.

"The Flying Dutchman" Marcel Luske will be landing just in time for the kickoff Charity event on February 22 and will be joined by fellow dutch Team PokerStars Pro Pieter de Korver.

Confirmed attendees for the MPC also include Team PokerStars PRO: Asia Raymond Wu from Taipei, Bryan Huang from Singapore, and Celina Lin from China.

At the end of last year, Wu released the first Taiwanese poker book written by a PokerStars pro where the first edition has already sold out. PokerStars Macau will be holding a Raymond Wu Book Signing on Friday, February 25 at 5:30 PM where players have the opportunity to meet Taipei's top ranked player and ask questions one-on-one.

Huang is the defending Asia Player of the Year (APOY) winner and his quest to repeat looks strong after winning January's opening $2,000 KO Bounty event. All of the numbered tournaments in February's MPC are Official Asia Player of Year events. The 2011 APOY winner will receive a 1-year sponsorship with PokerStars Macau.

Here are the Top Ten Countries represented in the Macau Poker Cup series and each country's Top Three players according to 2010 APOY final rankings (Overall ranking in brackets):

Michael Mariakis (16)
Dean Holt (48)
Jesicca Ngu (73)

Fan Liu (9)
Celina Lin (11)
Chen Feng Li (23)

Raymond Wu (2)
Wei-en Shih (7)
Hung-sheng Lin (10)

Justin Chan (6)
"Roy" Kun Cheung Wan (27)
Sparrow Cheung (28)

Kenichi Takarabe (3)
James McCarty (19)
Takuya Suzuki (31)

Saehoon Lee (14)
Tae Joon Noh (22)
Min Soo Kim (24)

Raiden Kan (15)
Daren Yoon (61)
Marciano Soon (99)

Johnson "Johnny" Tan (25)
Vic Catalan (32)
Derrick Hernandez (39)

Bryan Huang (1)
Wee Yee Tan (21)
Ricky Foo (60)

Tom Chou (8)
Chi Chen (34)
Eric Stanley (44)
About Us | Advertising | Publications | Land Casinos