Game Types Bonuses Slots More
Online Casinos Poker Bingo Games Lotteries Sports & Racebooks Fantasy Sports Forex Betting Exchanges Spread Betting Binary Options Live Dealers
Weekly Newsletter Online Gaming News Payment Methods Gaming Software Gaming Site Owners Gaming Jurisdictions Edit Preferences Search
Bonuses! New games! Gossip! And all the player news you can handle. Sign up NOW!

Related Links

FireKeepers Casino Hotel up next on Mid-Stakes Poker Tour

8 May 2018

(PRESS RELEASE) -- Next week, the Mid-Stakes Poker Tour (MSPT) returns to FireKeepers Casino Hotel, and if last season is any indication, it’s going to be a record-breaking stop. In fact, we’re hopeful the stop will generate a seven-figure prize pool for the third time in a row.

A series of $65 and $250 qualifiers have been held in the weeks leading up to the $1,100 buy-in, $300,000 guarantee Main Event, which runs 17-20 May.

The Main Event, which requires players be 21 years of age to participate, will feature three starting flights beginning with Day 1A at Noon on Thursday, 17 May. Days 1B and 1C will then be held at Noon local time on Friday, 18 May and Saturday, 19 May, respectively. The remaining players from each flight will combine on Sunday, 20 May at 11 a.m. and play until a champion is crowned.

The Main Event final table will be broadcast LIVE (15-minute delay) worldwide online using RFID technology allowing all viewers to see the hole cards. In addition, the entirety of the Main Event will be live reported online.

In May 2017, Mike Shanahan topped a field of 1,066 entries – which set the record for largest poker tournament ever held in Michigan – for $216,829. Then, in October, the 2017 MSPT Michigan State Poker Championship set a new record with 1,067 entries. That tournament was won by Chris Meyers, who not only won $191,196 but went on to claim the Kimo Sabe Mezcal MSPT Season 8 Player of the Year title.

Other past MSPT Michigan State Poker champions including Brett Blackwood (2016 for $188,314), Michael Ferraroti (2015 for $134,642), Ryan Dykhouse (2014 for $124,500), and Jordan Townsend (2013 for $76,975).

Some players to win other MSPT FireKeepers titles are Harry Tisdale (May 2015 for $142,637), Jason Zarlenga (May 2014 for $101,482), and Thomas Midena (March 2013 for $73,456).

There’s also poker pro Aaron Massey, who has quite the track record at FireKeepers. Back in Season 7, he took home $174,658 for winning the MSPT FireKeepers. Amazingly, he followed that up by final tabling the 2016 Michigan State Poker Championship (he finished seventh for $23,882) and then returned in May 2017 to attempt a title defense. He fell one spot short finishing runner-up for $131,646.

FireKeepers Casino Hotel is located just off Interstate 94 at Exit 104, has been named Best Casino by audiences in Western Michigan and Northern Indiana, and earned nine first-place awards in the Casino Player Magazine Best of Gaming 2015 Native Midwest category, including Best Overall Gaming Resort.

For more information, visit the FireKeepers Casino Hotel website.
About Us | Advertising | Publications | Land Casinos