Game Types Bonuses Slots More
Online Casinos Poker Bingo Games Lotteries Sports & Racebooks Fantasy Sports Forex Betting Exchanges Spread Betting Binary Options Live Dealers
Weekly Newsletter Online Gaming News Payment Methods Gaming Software Gaming Site Owners Gaming Jurisdictions Edit Preferences Search

Online Casino City Times

Top 10 Online Casinos

1. Casino-on-Net
2. Euro Grand
3. 32 Vegas
4. Spin Palace Casino
5. Casino Tropez
6. Blackjack Ballroom
7. Cote d'Azur Palace
8. Joyland Casino
9. Party Casino
10. bet365 Casino & Games

> back to current newsletter
Weekly Newsletter Sign Up
Don’t miss an issue! Have the newsletter sent directly to you.

British poker pro prevails at Paddy Power Irish Open

27 Mar 2008

DUBLIN, Ireland -- (PRESS RELEASE) -- Neil Channing, a poker professional from London, England, won the €3 Million Irish Open in Citywest Hotel, Dublin, 24th March, earning himself an enormous €801,400 payday, the biggest win of his career.

Channing proved to be a popular winner despite defeating the home crowd favourite, Donal Norton from Tipperary, heads–up. Norton picked up €420,000 for his weekend's work.

The final table of six players played out in front of a packed TV audience, most of whom were hoping to see Norton reverse Channing's dominating chip lead. First to leave the final table was Edwin Tournier, who finished 6th, taking home €135,000. He was soon followed by Kai Danilo Paulsen (5th, €175,000), Tim Blake (4th €220,000) and Thomas Dunwoodie (3rd €275,000) leaving Channing and Norton to battle it out.

Emmet Davis was the longest lasting online qualifier earning a free entry to next year's Irish Open as part of the site's "Paddy First" promotion. Davis outlasted 63 other online qualifiers to win the prize on top of his €9,000 payout for finishing in 40th place overall.

This year's event, broadcast on RTE TWO, attracted 667 of the best poker players from around the world including the likes of Doyle Brunson, Padraig Parkinson, Ciaran O'Leary, Noel Furlong, Andy Black, Roland De Wolfe, Sorel Mizzi, Dave 'Devilfish' Ulliott and defending champion Marty Smyth. The players competed for a total prizepool of €3,001,400 of which contributed €200,000. The buy–in for the tournament was €4,500 with 72 players making the money.

About Us | Advertising | Publications | Land Casinos