Game Types Bonuses Slots More
Online Casinos Poker Bingo Games Lotteries Sports & Racebooks Fantasy Sports Forex Betting Exchanges Spread Betting Binary Options Live Dealers
Weekly Newsletter Online Gaming News Payment Methods Gaming Software Gaming Site Owners Gaming Jurisdictions Edit Preferences Search

Online Casino City Times

Top 10 Online Bingo Sites

1. Mecca Bingo
2. Gala Bingo
3. Unibet Bingo
4. William Hill Bingo
5. BingoBilly
6. Amigo Bingo
7. The Sun Bingo
8. Kitty Bingo
9. Wink Bingo
10. Cheeky Bingo

> back to current newsletter
Weekly Newsletter Sign Up
Don’t miss an issue! Have the newsletter sent directly to you.

$161,384 win for McCauley at WSOP

23 Nov 2021

Michael McCauley

Michael McCauley (photo by WSOP)

Michael McCauley was crowned the champion of Event #86: $1,000 Super Turbo No-Limit Hold'em at the 2021 World Series of Poker to win his first WSOP bracelet. The American defeated a 1,025-player field and beat British poker-pro Andy Wilson in heads-up play to win the $161,384 top prize.

McCauley had never cashed in a WSOP event before and only cashed in one daily deep stack earlier this year prior to this tournament. This was the only event McCauley played, besides the daily deep stack, and said "he was thinking about going to go play $2/$5 no limit cash game" but decided to jump into this tournament instead.

"This is my first WSOP so it's pretty amazing to come out here and win a bracelet. I was nervous but after I won a couple of pots I settled down and trusted my reads. I tried not to pay attention to the field, trusted my game and I believe I can play with the best of them."

A lot of familiar faces gave it a shot in this event, but fell short of the money places including 16-time WSOP champion Phil Hellmuth, five-time WSOP bracelet winner Shaun Deeb, Jason Wheeler, and Michael Wang.

Plenty of others did make the money though, as there were a total of 154 players that ended up winning a piece of the $912,250 prize pool. Some of those fortunate players included Ryan Riess (152th - $1,606), Aladin Reskallah (149th - $1,606), Landon Tice (130th - $1,606), and Michael Lech (124th - $1,757).

The final table was action-packed in the super turbo event. The first final table casualty was the Player of the Year leader Josh Arieh, who shove all-in with king-high and ran into pocket fives in which Arieh never improved to be eliminated in 10th place.

Next to hit the rail was Dara O'Kearney who shoved all-in with queen-jack off suit and was called by Andy Wilson with ace-high and O'Kearney never improved on the board being eliminated in ninth place.

Marc Lomeo was next to go when his pocket fives lost the race against the ace-king of Luigi Curcio when Curcio hit a king on the flop and eliminated the short-stacked Lomeo to finish in eigth place.

Both Filippo Ragone and Luigi Curcio were eliminated in seventh and sixth place in a three-way all-in when McCauley hit a bicycle straight on the river to eliminate both players from the field.

Next to go was Rajvir Dua in fifth when his ace-queen was cracked by the king-high of Wilson when Wilson hit a king on the turn.

Eliminated in fourth place was Yuval Bronshtein who shoved with king-eight suited and was snap-called by McCauley with ace-queen.

In Level 34, Neel Joshi went all-in with king-two offsuit and was called by McCauley with pocket sixes. Joshi never improved on the board and fell in third place.

The runner-up Wilson was eliminated when he jammed all-in for his remaining 7.7 million chips after McCauley raised to 1.2 million and Wilson's seven-six suited didn't improve against McCauley's king-jack.

Final Table Results
1 Michael McCauley $161,384
2 Andrew Wilson $99,742
3 Neel Joshi $72,031
4 Yuval Bronshtein $52,679
5 Rajvir Dua $39,022
6 Filippo Ragone $29,282
7 Luigi Curcio $22,263
8 Marc Lomeo $17,153
9 Dara O'Kearney $13,395

(Article courtesy of World Series of Poker)
About Us | Advertising | Publications | Land Casinos